I saw this commercial a while back… and it just stole my heart.

“Dear Sophie” commercial by Google Chrome

A few months ago, I was thinking about all the things I wished I could tell Sasha.  I had just gotten to speak with him on the phone, but the conversations could never get very deep because of the language barrier.  Even to this day, I hang up the phone always knowing I have so much more on my mind that I wish I could communicate with him. S in Ukraine with his cell phone

The thought of a journal came to me.  I considered starting a journal for him and writing to him all the things I want to tell him, the things I am praying for, the things I am wondering about… Until I was reminded of the “Dear Sophie” commercial by Google Chrome.

Yes. It just seemed so perfect! 

I set up an email account so my family and I could send emails to Sasha at any time.  This way I can attach videos, pictures, and other special things with the click of a mouse. 

Sasha does not know that we have this account set up, and they are not for him to read right now.  Someday we will share these with him and show him how much we have been thinking of him and praying for him. 

He probably never had a baby book that his mom made while she was pregnant with him… or a special collection of prayers that were prayed for him before he was born… but he will have this.  It’s a part of his story and I’m so blessed to be contributing!

If you would like to send a little note to him, a picture, a prayer, or a little word of encouragement feel free to write! 

dear.sasha2011(at)gmail(dot)com 

 

For you created my inmost being;
   you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
   your works are wonderful,
   I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you
   when I was made in the secret place,
   when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed body;
   all the days ordained for me were written in your book
   before one of them came to be.
How precious to me are your thoughts, God!
   How vast is the sum of them!
Were I to count them,
   they would outnumber the grains of sand—
   when I awake, I am still with you.
Psalm 139:13-18 (NIV)

