We’ve gotten some awesome news this week: On Thursday we found out that my parents will be leaving for Ukraine on their 1st adoption trip in 16 days!   We were not expecting it nearly so soon which made me even more excited!  Sasha has been asking for months when mom and dad will be arriving… I can’t even imagine what he will say when my parents get to tell him on the phone tomorrow that they are finally coming! Open-mouthed smile

The night after receiving this awesome news, I had this very interesting dream –

I was driving a car/riding a bike around dusk in the rain.  I could not really see them, but I knew that I had my family in tow behind me.  The roads were curvy and wet and I was going very fast.  I kept telling my mom behind me “We’re going so fast!” but we were always ok.  Even though the roads were wet and the turns were sharp, we always stayed on the road, it was like there was something that was keeping me from falling.  I did not know where we were headed, but I was not fearful and trusted that we would get where we were going.

I do not normally have these kinds of dreams, but it seems like it is such a genuine representation of what I must be feeling right now.  Although Sasha was not mentioned in my dream, I know this was about his adoption. 

In all honesty, I really have been the one behind our whole adoption process.  I know I am leading the way.  (You can look back at my first blog posts to see how our story has progressed from hosting, to advocating, to adopting.) Just like leading my family on a speedy journey on curvy roads in the rain, my parents’ adopting Sasha has been a whirlwind. It was never something they planned to do and now it’s all they’re thinking about.  I’ve led my family into one crazy unforeseen destination!

As we were traveling those roads in the dream, it just felt like I should have crashed down the sides of these steep, curvy roads; but I never did.  So many things – finances, legal issues, discouraging words – could have led us off this path of adoption, but I truly believe God has kept us going.  He’s kept us safe and delivered us of fear… that would typically come from adopting a nearly 16-year-old boy from a foreign institution.   He has kept us going and I am fully trusting in him to get us to the final destination: to have our son & brother safely home with us forever.

You might be able to relate to these feelings.  Being thrown into an unexpected situation that is nothing you could successfully handle on your own.  If you are faithful and keep honoring God, he will be there with you.  Even if you stumble, he has more than enough grace and mercy to get you back on the right path. He will see you through!

8 Then shall your light break forth like the dawn,
and your healing shall spring up speedily;
your righteousness shall go before you;
the glory of the Lord shall be your rear guard.

11
And the Lord will guide you continually
and satisfy your desire in scorched places
and make your bones strong;
and you shall be like a watered garden,
like a spring of water,
whose waters do not fail.

14 then you shall take delight in the Lord,
and I will make you ride on the heights of the earth…

Isaiah 58:8,11,14 (ESV)

(This is a pretty significant scripture to me.  I can trace my leading to this adoption back to 1 life changing conference in Jan 2009, and this was my theme verse from that time.  Now God has brought it back to me in a new season with a new purpose.)

