Let’s just get it out there – “Hi, my name is Jenelle, and I’m afraid of fundraising.”  There.  I said it.  The elephant in the room has been addressed. 

When I first committed to going on a missions trip to Ukraine this summer, there was not any hesitation in my mind.  This is something that I need to do.  I must do this for Sasha.  I must do this for my God who gave everything for me.

But now, reality has hit.  It’s time to get to work and actually make this thing happen.  Together my dad and I need to raise $4,000 plus several $1,000s more to go towards the building & ministry we are working with…. in less than 2 months. 

Now all these questions and doubts come to my mind:

-Where will this money come from?
-Everyone you know has their own financial needs to worry about.
-It’s hard enough to raise the money for 1 person, let alone 2 people.
-Everyday that passes just means the airfare will get more expensive.
-You can’t rely on people to keep helping pay for trips that you keep going on.
-It’s too late, you should have started doing this months ago.
-Everyone will just ignore your pleas for donations.
-Didn’t you just ask people for a ton of money for an adoption 1 year ago… that didn’t even work out?

…and honestly, fear sets in.  The easy thing to do would be to give into that fear, give up, back out, and not go.

But giving into fear is not going to please God.  Giving into fear is not going to give hope and future to orphans.  Giving into fear is not going to communicate to my forever Ukrainian brother in one huge (and possibly final) way that I will do everything in my power to show him he is loved.

And so here I am, ready to say ‘no’ to fear and ‘Use me Lord!’ to The One I know who will provide for my every need. 

Today starts a faith challenge for me, a challenge to trust God to provide $2,000 for me to get back to Ukraine, to build a place for orphans, and my brother, to call home.  I will not rely on other people to get me there, I will rely on God… God working through my believing brothers and sisters, to get me there. 

If you feel led to let the Lord use you to help me get to Ukraine, there are 2 things you can do:

  1. Download our Support Letter by clicking here and read how to give directly to our trip.
  2. Bid on something in my Facebook auction! It is a collection of items I have purchased new or ‘upcycled’ in a new crafting kick. In this auction, you type your bid in the comments and the highest bid on May 27th will be the winner! Get something for yourself, to decorate your kid’s room, classroom, homeschool room, or as a gift for someone who loves that part of the world! Click here to see items up for auction!

Cool stuff goes to the highest bidder!

Thank you for your support and prayers as God continues to grow my faith through this challenge!

For I am the Lord your God
who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear;
I will help you.
Isaiah 41:13 (NIV)

